3 Reasons Blogging Rocks!

Last week I wrote a post about why blogging sometimes sucks. It’s overwhelming, it’s a lot of time, yada, yada, yada. There’s always two sides to a coin though. Today I’m going to share three reasons I enjoy blogging.

 

1. You get to interact with people who share your interests.

How many of your family and/or friends are as excited about writing as you are? For me, I’d have to say…none. Don’t get me wrong, they support me and they think it’s neat, but they don’t understand the frustrations of your character not doing what you want. They don’t see why I’m so excited when I’m researching my latest idea. 140 characters or less on Twitter though, and I immediately get the praise, feedback, or excitement that I’m looking for. Blogging works the same way, just with no character limit.

2. You get to meet new people and make new friends.

This goes hand in hand with #1. You become part of this whole new world where you’re all united by a common thing. In this case, writing (or reading). Within this world, you’re bound to make some new friends. I’m glad to say I’ve met some amazing people that I never would have met if I didn’t start blogging.

3. Gives you a chance to learn about yourself.

Every day/week/month, however often you blog, you have to write about something new and hope others find it interesting. You come up with topics; either by yourself or by scouring the internet for blog post ideas. (<—That last one is totally me.) Once you find/come up with the great topic, you’ve still got to write about it. You have to weave words that express what you want to say. No hand gestures, facial expressions allowed. Just the words. You really get to think about the topic and see how you view it.

What are some reasons you love blogging?

signature

3 thoughts on “3 Reasons Blogging Rocks!

  1. That pretty much sums up my reasons. Plus if your doing private blogs, it’s great as sort of a private community message board, until you actually learn HTML. You might be able to make specialized communities devoted to JRPGs, Game Design, and Story writing. Though I’ve never gotten into RPing, I’ve always wanted to have a small community of friends that love doing that sort of thing.

Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing what you have to say, so leave a comment!

