Liking what you write

“Write the kind of story you would like to read. People will give you all sorts of advice about writing, but if you are not writing something you like, no one else will like it either.” – Meg Cabot

9536809632_84289c05be

Photo byRubin Starset, shared under the CC BY-NC-SA license

This quote has been on my mind a lot lately. I’m getting close to the point to either start querying for the first time or self-publishing. Either option has its pros and cons, as well as seems intimidating. As I try to perfect my MS, I’m constantly wondering: Are people going to like this? Is it good enough? Should I make my heroine a little more insecure or make her ooze confidence? I jump from blog to blog looking for the right answer and you wanna know what I discovered? There is no right answer. Yes, there are the rules you have to follow. Proper spelling, punctuation, capitalization, etc. As far as the story goes though, you’re the artist. This is your lump of clay, blank canvas, raw ingredients. How you spin them together is on you and how you think it should be done.

Be proud of your work. Is everyone going to love it? No. Just like not everybody loves pizza. (I agree, they’re sick in the head.) Is everyone going to hate? I highly doubt it. Emily Dickinson only published seven poems while she was alive. Edgar Allen Poe sold The Raven for nine measly bucks. Look at them now. *I am in no way encouraging you to plan your demise in hopes that your sales will increase. You put in hours of your time, mentally and physically. Recognize it. Respect it. And go rock it!
confetti
signature
Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing what you have to say, so leave a comment!

